Date and Time: Tuesday, November 30, 5:00 PM Pacific / 7:00 PM Central / 8:00 PM Eastern

Event Link: https://meetings.ringcentral.com/j/1489716049

Presenter(s): Matthew Chase, Librarian (mchase@usa.edu)

This workshop will explore the question: How reliable are internet search engines and scholarly databases in locating and accessing the evidence-based information? We will discuss how systemic bias manifests in scholarly databases and internet search engines, examine how information privilege affects evidence-based practice and research, and determine strategies for addressing information privilege and systemic bias.

This event is part of the Library's Contexts event series, a cocurricular library program supporting the University community’s research practices through the lens of intersectionality and equity.

Sign up below for the Event Link and email reminders:

Sign up for Systemic Bias in Internet Search Engines and Scholarly Databases


CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
16 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
There are currently 94 spots available

Workflow: 
Published