Business

Health Business Elite

This database provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. 

Education

Digital Commons Network: Education

The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

ERIC

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular article.

MedEdPORTAL

A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions.

Journal Collections

LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection

A collection of over 80 full text journals published by LWW/Ovid and related to nursing and health professions.

Medicine

Clinical Trials

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. 

Digital Commons Network: Medicine and Health Sciences

The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

DynaMed Plus

An online, point-of-care reference tool. Rather than connecting you with published articles from journals, DynaMed Plus connects you with encyclopedia-like entries about conditions that include an overview, diagnosis information, and recommendations for treatment based on published evidence.

Also available as a mobile app. Here is the easiest way to download the app and authenticate to our USA access:

  1. Go to http://prx-usa.lirn.net/login?url=http://www.dynamed.com 
  2. Log in with your USA email address and password
  3. Click on the Get the DynaMed Plus Mobile App link in the Spotlight area
  4. Enter your e-mail address and click Send
  5. An authentication link is e-mailed to you
  6. Open the e-mail from your mobile device
  7. If you have not already added the DynaMed Plus app to your device, do so now using the link in Step 1
  8. Tap the authentication link in Step 2 to authenticate the app (must have app downloaded first)

Watch a step-by-step tutorial on how to download the app here: https://youtu.be/jpDq5O8u7HI

The app has capabilities to be used offline (users must choose Full Install in their user settings), which is handy for anyone working in areas where data or wifi are not guaranteed. Users who don’t want to use their phone’s storage space can opt for Online Only, but must be connected to the Internet to access the content.

Guideline Summaries

Free access to thousands of current clinical practice guidelines and guideline summaries. An alternative to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)'s National Guideline Clearinghouse, which became unavailable in 2018 due to lack of funding.

PubMed

free, public citation and absract database from the National Institute of Health and the National Library of Medicine. "PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites."
No login information required.
 
By accessing PubMed through the link above (click on "PubMed" in bold teal), PubMed Linkout for the University of St. Augustine will activate automatically. You will have the option to filter your results to include only those articles available immediately through the USA Library and you can immediately access those articles by clicking on the USA shield icon in the abstract view of individual articles.
 
Need help searching PubMed? Try these:
 
Searching with PubMed Tutorial:    
 
 

If you would like to see the University of St. Augustine filters in your PubMed searches without having to click on the PubMed link on the library's website every time you go to PubMed, consider registering for a free MyNCBI account and adding the University of St. Augustine filters. The following video demonstrates how to do this:
 

Multidisciplinary

Gale PowerSearch

A search of a variety of databases from Gale, including Academic OneFile, Health Reference Center Academic, Nursing and Alllied Health Collection, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection, and Psychology Collection.

ProQuest Central

A search of a variety of databases from ProQuest, including the Education Database, Family Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Health Management Database, Nursing & Allied Health Database, and Public Health Database.

Want to learn more about ProQuest? Visit the Webinar Archive and view "The Quest for ProQuest."

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Simplifies searching for dissertations and theses via a single access point to explore an extensive, trusted collection of 4 million graduate works, with 2 million in full text. 

Nursing

CINAHL Complete

This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. 

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

Content and tools from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) - one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organizations.

Ovid Emcare

Nursing and allied health database that provides access to journals and articles focusing on clinical (caring) practice.

Rehabilitation

Allied Health Evidence

A search tool that allows you to locate research across 4 databases at once: PEDro, OTseeker, SpeechBITE and PsycBITE. These databases provide the citation details, and where possible, the abstract and link to the full text [typically on the publisher's website - please check the Journal Finder for USA's access to a particular journal] of research about treatments relevant to Physiotherapy (PEDro), Occupational Therapy (OTSeeker), and Speech Pathology (speechBITE). PsycBITE contains research about cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occuring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). In addition, each database provides critical appraisal details for many of the studies that are indexed.

Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular article.

OT Search

Occupational Therapy Bibliographic System. From the American Occupational Therapy Association, OT Search allows occupational therapists and OT students to search a wide scope of materials specifically in and directly related to the field of occupational therapy. OT Search includes information on all AOTA publications, including those that are not included in PubMed or any other database.

Users should keep in mind that OT Search is the library catalog of the AOTA's headquarters in Maryland. Students should not expect immediate, online full-text access to articles through OT Search. When OT Search mentions "1 copy available in the STACKS" they are talking about their library's stacks, not ours. Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular journal.

OT Seeker

"OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources."

Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular journal.

PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro is a free database of over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular journal.

PsycBITE

PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain  impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various  aspects of scientific rigour.
Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular journal.

speechBITE

speechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.

Does not necessarily give free full text access. Please check Search USA for USA's access to a particular journal.

SPORTDiscus

This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Research

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this database provides a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership.